Blast From the Past: Preakness 1991 Winner Hansel (Video)

I can check one item off my bucket list after finally getting to visit Hansel, the oldest living Preakness Stakes winner. It is hard to believe that Hansel is 27 and will turn 28 in a few weeks.

Photo by Stacy Edwards

Photo by Stacy Edwards

It seems like it was only yesterday that I was betting on Hansel in the Kentucky Derby and I did not lose faith after he finished 10th that day.

He came to my hometown of Baltimore for the second jewel of the Triple Crown and a funny thing happened on the way to the $50 minimum window. I attended the races on Black-Eyed Susan Day and made an advance wager on the Preakness…or so I thought!

As I was walking away from the window I noticed that my ticket was for a race run on Black-Eyed Susan Day, not the Preakness. I scampered back to the betting window and rectified the situation. One day later, Hansel romped home by seven lengths under Jerry Bailey and paid $20.20 to win. I doubled my win bet in the Belmont Stakes and he held on to beat his late running rival Strike the Gold by a head.

Hansel-2015-1_615x400

Later that summer, Hansel finished 3rd in the Haskell and 2nd in the Travers. He was named Champion American Three-Year-Old of 1991.

Hansel currently resides at Lazy Lane Farm in Upperville, Virginia and he still looks like a champion to this day. He is enjoying his golden years and happily accepted multiple head pats and carrots during my visit.

It was great to see a living thoroughbred legend and I am glad that I got to spend a beautiful December day with him.

Hansel-2015-3

Photos and Video by Stacy Edwards

Leave a Reply

